Harlan Coben at Purdue

This week I had the opportunity to attend a talk between Mitch Daniels and author Harlan Coben as a part of Purdue’s Presidential Lecture series.  The event was called “The Rules of Writing and When to Break Them.”  The talk was essentially a conversation between President Daniels and Coben, followed by Coben answering questions from the audience.  In the following interview I talked to one of the people running the event, and learned a little about the event and a great Purdue organization. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63-pD3jHXcA While I have never read any of Coben’s books, I have definitely heard of him.  He is probably my mother’s favorite author, and as soon as she heard about this event she made plans to drive up and attend it with me.  I got to have a little preview of what I assume next month’s challenge will be like, seeing as the theme is “A book your mother loves.” Because I did not know much about Coben going into it, I didn’t really have any idea what this event was going to be like.  However, I quickly began to enjoy the event immensely.  Harlan Coben was an amazing speaker, who had some great insights and advice about writing and publishing, while simultaneously being hilarious.  Check out the video below to see some of the event. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y5OVq-naZxQ

Leave a Reply

