Boilermaker Book Views

While I love books and have a lot of different opinions on them, I know that how I feel about reading is not necessarily how most people feel.  A lot of people, especially busy students, don’t read as often as I do, or view the same parts of reading as important.  So, to try and share some more balanced opinions on books in college,  I interviewed three students on campus about their favorite books and reading habits.  I also talked to them about an issue that we have discussed on the blog previously, Book Snobs.  While not everyone was familiar with the term, once I defined it for them, they all had experience with them.

Daniel Luna – Sophomore, Health Sciences Pre-Professional

IMG_2425

What is your favorite book? 

It’s pretty much a tie.  The Great Gatsby and the Death Cure by James Dashner, I read them in Junior and Senior year of high school, but out of class.

How often do you read in college?

I read about once a month, for like an hour, not very often unless you’re counting breaks.  Then I read a lot more.

Do you think you have ever been/are a book snob?

I honestly don’t consider myself one but I do like a specific genre.  But there’s a lot of great books that I just don’t enjoy to read.  I wouldn’t judge someone for loving “50 Shades of Grey” more than “The Great Gatsby,” but that’s because I read that book, and that actually is a good book.  Everyone has their own opinion, so that’s kind of how I view it.

Do you think book snobs have an impact on other people’s reading habits?

I would honestly say yeah.  A lot of people have the tendency to follow the crowd.  I feel like I don’t really get impacted by it, but there is a lot of people who tend to only like one genre and say that one genre is better than others.  That might make some people who only follow what’s popular change what they read.

Aspen Deno – Junior, Agriculture Communication

IMG_2423

What is your favorite book? 

To be honest I haven’t really read since high school. I read “The Color Purple” in high school and I thought that was a really good book.  It’s very detailed and covers a lot of things.  Now, I really just read for classes.

Have you encountered book snobs?

I think book snobs, or at least people who try to seem more impressive by choosing “fancier” books are definitely out there.  Especially in high school, you have to read a lot of those classic books like to kill a mockingbird, so I think a lot of people will just say those are there favorite.  If they do it to just make it look like they know really good books, then that’s wrong, and it could make others feel worse about their books.

Do you think people saying one type of book is better would influence how people read?

I think so.  If you are told you should be reading older books like Shakespeare, that can be intimidating.   I know with me I had a lot of difficulty trying to understand Shakespeare and all those kinds of books.  I could not comprehend them at all.  Even if people tried to explain them to me I couldn’t understand them.  It could be discouraging.

Madaline Pitcher – Junior, Retail Management 

IMG_2426

What is your favorite book?

I have two.  One of them is “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern and the other one is “Looking for Alaska” by John Green.  I’ve read “Looking for Alaska” probably 20 times, it’s in my desk right now.  I think it’s just the honesty of the book, and what it says about life.

Have you encountered any book snobs?

Definitely, as with anything else, people will like their own favorites more than other people’s favorites.  They’re always gonna downplay other people’s favorite things, and try to sell their own.

Do you think that being a book snob has a negative impact? 

Maybe not, if they’re a nice book snob and they’re being like “Let me give you this book and change your life with it” and they’re getting other people to read, then it could be a good thing. There could be negative impacts though, like “oh well if my taste in books isn’t great then I’m just not gonna read.”  I think, primarily if  you’re younger then that could make a difference.  I wouldn’t want to read if someone was bashing my favorite books all the time.

Leave a Reply

